Urban Decay Naked Palette


Happy Monday everyone!

Haha, for those of you who know me really well, you all know that Mondays are perhaps the hardest for me. I mean, really, a whole weekend of debauchery and then I have to get up early and go to work? It’s a fact of life that I’m still getting used to; one day I’ll grow up and be a real, live adult! LOL

Anyways, I need to vent a little before I actually get to the beauty that is the Urban Decay Naked Palette and the story I’m about to tell should be fairly short and at least marginally entertaining. SO, I’m on my way to an appointment Saturday morning and I’m checking the voicemails that have magically shown up on my mobile phone that were not there Friday nite. One of them was from 8/9 from one of my local radio stations, 93.9FM. They had called to inform me that I had won the contest I had entered the previous weekend to see Bare Naked Ladies play a small set at a local restaurant, Goodnite Gracie, and they’d do a meet and greet w/ the winners after that.

Pretty awesome, right? WRONG! The performance was for 8/10, and if you do the math, I received notification of the voicemail on Saturday, 8/14. Clearly I completely missed out on this opportunity and I’m not sure if I should be pissed at my phone (HTC Touch Diamond) or pissed at my provider (Sprint). Because, you see, this has happened before where I don’t have a record of a call on my missed call logs and I don’t receive the voicemail notification until several days later. It was never important before, so I never thought it was a big deal. This. Is. A. Big. Deal! (Ok, I mean it’s not an emergency like someone giving birth or something, but I completely missed out on a once in a lifetime opportunity to see BNL!)

I will be following up w/ Sprint to see what they have to say for themselves, but my hopes aren’t real high on them trying to make something right that they couldn’t possibly make right at this point. :-/

Now after that depressing tidbit of news in my life, on to the Urban Decay Naked palette to cheer us up. 🙂

For those of you out there who are completely clueless about what shades of eyeshadow to get, or whether you’ll be able to wear these colors to work, fear not! The Urban Decay Naked palette is perfectly suited to pretty much everyone and provides a fun range of nudes and some darker shades to add drama for the evening. Plus, it comes w/ two shades of their nifty 24/7 eyeliner and a travel-sized bottle of Primer Potion. It’s new for the fall and although it’s difficult to find right now, it looks like it’ll be permanent (as opposed to limited edition) so you should be able to get your hot little hands on them at some point.

When you pick up this palette it’ll come nicely boxed like this w/ a small travel sized bottle of Eyeshadow Primer Potion:
Naked palette-boxed front

The primer potion is freaking fantastic. I never understood the point in using a primer for my eyeshadow before, but after using this for the first time, I’ll never go back! Eyeshadow primer is the single reason my eyeshadow applies better, stays longer and doesn’t crease throughout the day. That’ll be my tip of the day: Use eyeshadow primer!

Unboxed, but still in packaging, the palette and back of the box look like this:
Naked palette-unboxed box back

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for, the completely unboxed photos! (You can’t see it, but the palette exterior itself is actually a warm, velvety material that goes really well w/ the “naked” theme that UD is going for.)

Naked palette-unboxed, unpackaged

Naked palette-open

Naked palette-open2

Eyeshadow closeups:
Naked palette-detail1

Naked palette-detail2

Naked palette-detail3

Swatches (I have NC42 skin and sidenote-I’m going to have to pay better attention to how I edit my photos b/c the coloring for both photos does not match at all! Sorry guys!):
L to R-Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar, Buck, Half Baked
Naked palette-eyeshadow swatches1

L to R-Smog, Dark Horse, Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal
Naked palette-eyeshadow swatches2

Something to note about these eyeshadows, you get full-sized eyeshadows in the this palette.

Double-ended UD 24/7 eyeliner swatches in Zero (black) and Whiskey (medium brown) :
Naked palette-eyeliner swatch

Tip about the eyeliner, they apply super soft and smooth and are supposed to be waterproof w/ really good staying power. I sometimes use it, but I have really oily eyelids and b/c of my allergies (I’m allergic to the planet, really) I blink a LOT so these don’t stay as well on me. HOWEVER, this should not discourage you at all from using these eyeliners. I HIGHLY recommend that you try these eyeliners if you haven’t already b/c they come in an amazing range of fun and work appropriate shades and I’ve heard so many other people w/o sever allergy issues or oily lids who can wear these all day without seeing any smudging or fading.

I’ll probably do a look for you guys later this week so you can see this palette in action (I know, I know, I keep saying I’m going to do a look and then I never do, but I actually have one documented and ready to go for tomorrow’s post featuring Lime Crime products purchased at ShanaLogic!)

Bottom line: You can find this palette at Sephora (in-store and online), Ulta, and on Urban Decay’s site for $44.00. I know that sounds like a lot, but remember that you’re getting 12 full-sized eyeshadows keeping in mind one full-sized eyeshadow is $17.00. It’s really a phenomenal value especially considering the quality of the product is so great plus the eyeliner and Primer Potion you also score. So, run, don’t walk to the nearest store that carries this and snag one for yourself!

What do you guys think? Is this something you’ve been wondering about?

Disclaimer: I purchased this product myself to review.

Leave a Reply

