First Post


It’s Saturday night (technically Sunday morning as it’s 1:27 in the AM) and I’m at home after having watched the fabulous Kathy Griffin perform at the Fox Theater. In my typical scatter-brained manner, I’m petting my cat, surfing the web, Tweeting, and IMing w/ one of my besties, Diana (the art maven responsible for the designs you will see here, and yes Brad, you get a shout-out too!) whilst listening to my husband attempt to organize the unwieldy music collection currently on his 1.5 TB HD (which we’re still not sure will fit the rest of the music collection which hasn’t been digitized and consists of approximately 2,000+ CDs). However, I digress; I’ve been wracking my brains trying to think up catchy/appealing blog names. B/c everybody knows when trying to launch something as important (please note the sarcasm) as a beauty blog, one must pay special attention to branding.

In any case, I’ve been babbling about blog names to pretty much anyone who will listen (so sadly this falls to the aforementioned husband and bestie). There have been numerous attempts at capturing the essence that is me and my scatterbrained existence. By day, I’m an engineer at a Li-Ion battery company in the Midwest (for those in to alternative energy, this shouldn’t be too difficult to narrow down). By night, I collapse from exhaustion from the long hours I work (it’s true!) on the couch w/ kitties and nail polish. Thankfully I manage to avoid nail polish on the cats. 😉

(Yeah…so the rest of this post is written like 2 weeks after the initial two paragraphs above.)
SO, based on these factors, I’d been tossing around ideas that conveyed a generic nail polish/cosmetics theme or that also incorporated science/engineering w/ cosmetics. One of the names considered, but ultimately tossed out was “Lucky Lacquer” which seemed pretty cute. Unfortunately, a similar URL had already been taken http://www.luckylacquers.com which, for the record, has nothing to do w/ nail polish.

Another was pretty brilliant, in my opinion, but made for an impossibly long URL which, let’s be honest ladies, you don’t want to spend five minutes trying to figure out how you misspelled madamecuriesmakeupbox.com. The latter was actually something the hubby came up w/ in an attempt to help me identify a viable blog name and end the obsession surrounding THAT little quest. He then informed me of one the names he thought of, but mentally tossed aside: Makeup and Entropy with the related tagline, “Creating disorder from order and looking glamorous while doing it.”

LIGTHBULB! That was fatntastic! How he could have thought that was a discardable (yeah, “That’s not even a word!” Props to anyone who can name what that little gem is from) is beyond me. Thus, the idea of Makeup and Entropy was born!

So, what is Makeup and Entropy you ask? Why yes, I am getting to a point in a rather convoluted way! Makeup and entropy is pretty self explanatory, well, I suppose once you know what entropy means-it’s basically a measure of microscopic disorder in a system (WOOT! Using my ChE degree after all! TOTALLY worth the small fortune I’m still in debt for to get it!)

ANYWAYS, anyone who’s close to me knows exactly how disorganized and random I am. My poor husband has often found the remote control in various locations around the house other than in the living room-where it belongs. I’m also the type to start a small task, then walk away from it, completely forgetting what I’d initially intended to do, you know, such mundane things as feed the cats. >.> Hence, why I use “entropy” to describe this blog’s ramblings about cosmetics-a sick, beautiful addiction I have. So much so, that it was suggested that I start a blog to share that obsession w/ the masses.

In my day to day life, it’s pretty amazing for me to manage getting out of the house put together in any way. *I* like to think I manage to look glamorous (or at the very least, presentable) when walking out the door.

Perhaps my new reading audience can help me out w/ that-let me know what you think about my swatches and looks? Help me grow and be a better blogger and cosmetics photographer? 😉

Well…if not, there’s always talking to myself!

For now, please enjoy the entropy inspired offering of various nail polish swatches.

Cheers!

This was my 4th of July manicure-Lippmann Collection Happy Birthday over Zoya America.
Lippmann Happy Birthday over Zoya America

Chanel Illusion D’or over China Glaze For Audrey
Chanel Illusion D'or over CG For Audrey

An impulse buy at CVS that did not disappoint, Sally Hansen Spectrum:
Spectrum

Orly Charged Up-It looked so nice and purple-y!
Charged Up

From China Glaze’s Summer 2010 Poolside collection, Pool Party. This was a reddish pink that looked amazing on. It positively glowed and looked great on my skin and I think would look just great on someone w/ a tan.
Pool Party

For reference I’m NC42. So, what do you guys think? Let me know!

Please note, all comments are moderated and must be approved before they will appear. I will do my best to approve them as quickly as I can, however, I do have to sleep, eat and work! Thank you for your understanding!

11 responses to “First Post

  1. The photos look phantastico! Nicely done. When are we going to see some non-nail stuff?

    • Thanks sweetie! 🙂 Non-nail stuff to come when I return from my sojourn to New England. Fun things to post about such as MUFE and MAC’s In the Groove collection.

  2. I love the Zoya America and Happy Birthday combo!

    • I know it was kind of predictable to do for the 4th, but darn it, the combination was just so pretty! 🙂

      Also, thanks so much for checking my blog out. I’ll be posting again at the end of the week when I’m back from my business trip and have access to my personal computer.

  3. Ooh, I LOVE the blog design… and name… and your photos are great! I think it was a perfect idea for a 4th of July mani personally. I cannot seem to pull off that shade of red but I love to look at it on others.
    I have a feeling I will be enjoying your blog – I love your style of writing already!

    • Yay! I’m so glad you like it. 🙂 I can’t take any credit for the design as it was one of the ones provided by WordPress. I have these grand plans of replacing it in time w/ one designed by my best friend, but as most things go in my head I think, “I should start a blog! OK! Let’s do it now!” Then I tell my friend that she needs to do some design work and she says “….Ummmm, I think I’m going to need more than 5 minutes notice.”

      As for the red, it can be a tricky color for anyone to pull off. I’m just obsessed w/ that perfect shade of pin-up red…well, ok, all shades of polish. Haha!

  4. Yey! Congrats on the new blog! 😀

  5. Names are so hard to come up with. I hate having to think of names, it’s my least favourite thing to do when creating things! Haha.
    That Chanel polish over For Audrey is gorgeous! & I agree with Pool Party looking great with your skin tone!

    • Hi there! Thanks for checking out my blog. I totally agree w/ you about naming. It’s tough to think up something catchy, but not too trendy or it’ll lose relevance as time passes. I like the name of your blog, actually. The photography is awesome too (love the kitty making guest appearance!).
      Oh, and I’m totally in love w/ that Chanel/CG combination. It’s just so pretty!

      • Aww, thanks! 🙂
        Yeah I kind of gave up trying to think of a unique name, and settled with something more vague. But I’m happy with it being simple 🙂
        & I decided to post that picture mainly because it had my cat scoping out all the nail polish bottles! Haha

Leave a Reply

